Buen Camino – Prayers, Petitions, Peparations

As many of you may know, I am going to walk the Camino de Santiago following the ‘Camino Frances’ or the ‘French Way’. I will undertake this journey in June to pray for the students in my 6th Year Religion class who will be sitting their Leaving Cert while I am scaling the Pyrénées. In addition to this prayerful intention, I have decided to fundraise for Jack and Jill Foundation. The College has been supporting this very worthy charity all year long. A number of fifth years wanted to be involved, and I am very appreciative of their interest. However, due to the last minute nature of the event, I will end up going alone on behalf of Gormanston College.

I plan on walking 800km – from St Jean Pied de Port in France, across the Pyrénées, through La Rioja, Burgos, Leon and into Santiago de Compostela – starting on the 2nd of June and hopefully finishing early in July . I’ll post the odd up-date on Twitter(@Kate_e_Ryan), Facebook and the Gormanston Religion Blog – so you can see my progress – both the pain and the pleasure!

Here’s a short video that will give you a taste of what the journey might be like:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *